Two LSU Tigers Named As Semi-Finalists For Major Postseason Awards

Florida v LSU

LSU football players Joe Burrow and Derek Stingley Jr. are both being named as semi-finalists for two coveted postseason awards.

Burrow was named yesterday as a semi-finalist for the Maxwell Award, which since 1937 has been given to college football's best all-around player.

Stingley is now a contender for the Bednarik Award, which was first handed out in 1995 to the nation's top defensive player.

No LSU player has ever won the Maxwell Award while former Tigers Patrick Peterson and Tyrann Mathieu took home back to back Bednarik Awards for LSU in 2010 and 2011.

Copyright © 2019 TTWN Media Networks LLC Photo: Getty Images


Content Goes Here